Home > Programs & Events > Orchids & Onions > Archive

2003 Orchids & Onions


Excellence in Historic Preservation

Awarded to projects that have demonstrated outstanding adherence to the Secretary of the Interior's Standards in preservation, restoration, renovation, or adaptive reuse (residential or commercial).

  • Blaine County Courthouse Stair Project - Hailey, Idaho

Contribution to Historic Preservation

Awarded to projects that have been successful in the tasteful restoration, addition, or remodel of an existing building (residential or commercial).

  • Deadwood Lookout Restoration - Boise National Forest
  • W.S. Haskins House - Wallace, Idaho
  • Goldy's Hyde Park - Boise, Idaho
  • Hearthstone Bakery & Tea House - Kamiah, Idaho
  • Crouch Community Hall - Crouch, Idaho
  • Messer Block - Twin Falls, Idaho

Friend of Preservation

Awarded to non-professional individuals distinguished for service in historic preservation. This would include, but not be limited to, those who volunteer for preservation organizations, historical societies or museums.

  • City of Caldwell Historic Commission and Staff for the Steunenberg Residential Historic Overlay Zone and Design Guidelines - Caldwell, Idaho

Distinguished Preservationist

Awarded to professionals distinguished for service in historic preservation. Nominees for this award would be those whose job it is to further the cause of historic preservation in Idaho through direct projects or education.

  • Paul Smith - Twin Falls, Idaho

Cultural Heritage Preservation

Awarded to educational programs and projects that have made a positive impact toward the preservation of cultural heritage and open spaces, as well as the restoration and rehabilitation of historic landmarks and roadside architecture.

  • O'Emiln Quest, The Coeur d'Alene Tribe - Plummer, Idaho
  • Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation's Historic Preservation Program - Statewide
  • White Knob Historic Preservation Committee - Mackay, Idaho


Examples of projects or programs insensitive to historic preservation can be awarded in the following categories: individuals or corporations who demolish historically significant buildings or sites; new construction that is insensitive or ignorant of the neighborhood's history.

  •  No nominations this year.